The Martian, by Andy Weir

4 Sep
FIVE of FIVE stars

FIVE of FIVE stars

For a good long while I was concerned this was going to be 317 pages of science and chemistry lessons. But just in time, the story introduces a new dimension to the plot and then things went warp speed. And the book actually IS 317 pages of science and chemistry lessons, but it’s all wrapped up in a “Murphy’s Law on Mars” vs. “The MacGyver-ist MacGyver That Ever Was”. I have a feeling actual scientists and engineers would describe what Mark does as “in theory” and “except that” etc., but it was fascinating anyway. And how can you not root for Mark Watney? I was jumping in my seat, covering the words below so no surprise would be ruined (and there was a surprise on every page!!), and hoping against hope that somehow he was going to make it home alive. What a great character! What great science and chemistry lessons! They should assign this book in schools just to get kids excited about the possibilities.

I won’t see the movie. I’m sure they can make something exciting out of this, but no film would be able to encompass all that happens in this book. It’s a fast read, and it’s a read you can’t put down until you’re done, so JUST READ THE BOOK.

5 Responses to “The Martian, by Andy Weir”

  1. SciFi and Scary September 4, 2015 at 10:29 pm #

    I’m going to see the movie. I KNOW I’ll end up seeing the movie, and if the trailer is any indication, I’ll probably regret it. You should listen to the audiobook version by R.C. Bray. Its amaaaaaaaazing. He IS Mark Watney.

    • Cynthia September 4, 2015 at 10:30 pm #

      I think it’s probably going to be a good movie. But it won’t be the same as the book <— Statement that never has to be voiced, LOL.

      • SciFi and Scary September 4, 2015 at 10:42 pm #

        Definitely won’t be the same. I don’t see Ridley Scott or Matt Damon handling The Martian well.

  2. RebeccaForrester September 4, 2015 at 11:26 pm #

    I’ve got this on my Kindle and I’m trying to find time to read it in between like, 10 other books. I’m glad to hear its good though.

    • Cynthia September 4, 2015 at 11:39 pm #

      I had it on my Kindle FOREVER. Finally I figured I was the last person on Earth and probably Mars too who had not read it yet. It does go super fast and it’s not long at all.

Leave a Reply

