Lucky Spool’s Essential Guide to Modern Quilt Making, by Editors at Lucky Spool

7 Sep
FIVE of FIVE stars

FIVE of FIVE stars

I received this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This is the most comprehensive quilt-making book I’ve seen in a long time, definitely worth the price.  I haven’t looked at a new quilt book in over a decade, as after you’ve seen 200-300 of them, they no longer have new information. I’m so glad I decided to take a look at this one to see if there was anything new in the field now.

This book contains gorgeous simple quilt designs, as well as suggestions for very complicated ones. They are definitely modern designs, ones I’ve never seen before and would love to have in my home, hanging from my walls and covering my bed.

It is a book for beginner quilters and quilters with some experience who’d like to advance their skills. I’m sure advanced quilters would also find many new ideas in this book.

It covers all the sewing basics of course, and does so with much detail. There is a long chapter on color and how to choose what you need for what you are making, and there is a lot of new information in the last decade or two. The color chapter is very inspirational for everyone from beginners who want to take the next step in quilting, to even more experienced quilters who would like to advance to more dramatically individual designs.

It was the new modern designs that especially caught my attention though. These were quilts I would love to have in my more modern home. I’ve stepped away from the “homey” decor of my 20s and 30s (when I had kids at home), and have turned to a more quiet Japanese sense of simple decor, and many of these designs would fit right in. Don’t be disappointed though, there are many of the old style quilting patterns here too, in fact most of the modern quilts have just deconstructed the old designs, and simplified them.

There was one design called “The Aftermath” which basically portrayed a giant pool of blood on a light colored field. Some may find this distasteful, but I knew my grown children, who have inherited their mother’s morbid sense of humor, would love it. But then I read that it was in memory of the Boston bombing victims.  Well then. There is morbid sense of humor, and then there is a constant memory of actual dead bombing victims hanging from your wall or covering your bed. Sooooo… that one will have to be a no for me.

Almost every other design was amazing though, and has inspired me to dig out my machine again and get my fabrics back in order. That’s right, family & friends, you all know what you’ll be getting for Christmas again. Hey, it’s been fifteen years, you need another homemade quilt by now, right?

FIVE STARS.

One caveat: That cover is the most UNinspiring cover I’ve ever seen. Do not judge this book by that boring cover! Inside is where all the value is, and that’s what is most important.

Leave a Reply

