The Girl in the Spider’s Web (Millennium Trilogy #4), by David Lagercrantz, Stieg Larsson (Creator), George Goulding (Translator)

25 Sep
FIVE of FIVE stars

FIVE of FIVE stars

I had a love/hate relationship with the Stieg Larsson trilogy (and nothing in between), but I really mourned the end of Lisbeth Salander when I closed the final book. There were so many unanswered questions about her and she was a singularly original, powerful female character. I did not allow myself to get excited about the new book in the series, continued by David Lagercrantz.

However, from just about page one I flew through this book, staying up until my eyes couldn’t understand another word, and opening the book again the moment I woke up. I’m not sure it’s a perfect continuation… but I had a lot of issues with the original series that this book avoided.

So, for what it is, this book gets 5 stars from me for the following reasons: Lisbeth Salander is allowed to continue her story, and what is revealed in this book is believable, the book is exciting and extremely fast paced with many very interesting characters, the plot is just as complicated and intriguing as the originals, and also… the extremely unnecessary violence from the first books is entirely gone in this book. There is violence off screen, but we don’t have to live through every excruciating detail. And there is every indication that there will be more books in the future.

The cons: Well, it’s hard to tell if this would be just as awesome if it wasn’t the continuation of those previously loved books. Would Salander have been just as loved and understood in this book if you have not read the first ones? I’m not sure. But so what, you should read the first books anyway. The criminal scenario is not entirely closed, which leaves room for future books but also leaves less of a cliffhanger and more of a somewhat unfinished feel to this one.

The only glaring difference to me from the original books is that there is no mention of coffee until halfway through the 400 pages, and that is the one and only mention. The original books had a pot of coffee put on whenever anyone came through a door. But if this is the worst problem I can think of, come on, Lagercrantz has done a wonderful job. I can’t wait for the next book.

Leave a Reply

