Crossroads: Extraordinary Recipes from the Restaurant That Is Reinventing Vegan Cuisine, by Tal Ronnen, Scot Jones

1 Nov
Five of Five stars

Five of Five stars

I received an advance copy from NetGalley in exchange for a review.

Holy Cannoli, I’ve just gone through this gorgeous book and I cannot wait to start cooking. My mouth is watering as I write this. I’ve finished the book, but I want to try a few recipes before I submit an official review.

Be back soon!!! (After I gain a few pounds)

Weeks later…

I’ve had a difficult time with this review, not because I didn’t like the book but because every time I return to it I start making ingredient lists and envisioning what I can include for Thanksgiving dinner, and deciding if I should plan an earlier dinner party because I cannot wait to get started with these amazing dishes!! And then the review is forgotten and I’m lost in cooking dreamland.

This is a gourmet book, make no mistake. Even for long time vegans there are some new ingredients and possibly some difficult to find ones (black garlic??). Many of the recipes do not look like they can be whipped up in five minutes, or even 30 minutes, but then again most of these dishes do not look like something you’d throw on the table for the family on a Tuesday night. This is food to impress.

In the early edition I was shown, there was a gorgeous photo for every single dish – and again, that’s what makes it so difficult to get through, you just get stuck on the beauty of the pictures and wondering what these magical dishes will taste like.

Early in the book Ronnen talks of his Crossroads restaurant, and he makes a big deal about not using meat substitutes, just pure whole foods. When I told a vegan friend of mine about this book she says she went to Crossroads for her birthday last year and the menu was heavy on the Gardein dishes. I cannot verify this, perhaps she was confused about the restaurant, but I can tell you this cookbook has no Gardein anywhere to be found.

I was quite impressed with the book. This is gourmet vegan cooking like I’ve never seen before and I am excited about it. I would not recommend this for a beginner cook, especially anyone not used to vegan cooking, but anyone experienced in the kitchen would likely love it. Beginner cooks will love finding dishes to aspire to – and they won’t be left out, there are less complicated dishes as well. It would be a wonderful, original addition to your vegan cookbook shelf and an inspiration for many dinner parties (and dinners for two) in your future.

One Response to “Crossroads: Extraordinary Recipes from the Restaurant That Is Reinventing Vegan Cuisine, by Tal Ronnen, Scot Jones”

  1. Katie November 2, 2015 at 9:56 pm #

    Very interesting! I am not vegan but recently discovering this art of cooking! It can be challenging I agree. Thanks for the review!
    Love Katie
    https://whatskatieupto.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

