How to Turn $100 into $1,000,000: A Guide to Earning, Saving, and Investing, by James McKenna, Matt Fontaine, Jeannine Glista

14 Nov
FIVE of FIVE stars

FIVE of FIVE stars

What a great book this is. I’d say this book is ideal for everyone from precocious and driven ten year olds, to high school students, to those in their early twenties. I would even bet money that people over 30 would find something useful in this book, but it doesn’t recommend gambling so I can’t, heh.

It’s often exclaimed that we don’t teach kids about money and finances any more, and that they don’t learn any of those skills in school. This book goes over all of that and then some. It’s packaged as a “How to make $1,000,000” book, as that gets kids’s attention, but it’s basically all about setting goals, achieving them, and working hard for what you want. The book goes over everything from bank vs. credit union, to budgeting, to the stock market. There are even sections which humorously advise against stealing to make your money. Really great explanations of interest rates. And a handy glossary of finance terms.

It’s really good at getting the reader excited about making and saving money. I wish I had this book when I was just out of high school. And it’s all told in a very interesting way, even for those with short attention spans. Very short concise sections, lots of fun flow-charts, and several places where you fill out your own lists in order to figure out and achieve your goals. And it is very user-friendly. You don’t have to know anything about money to understand this book, even as it explains what compound interest is, or how to track your investments.

I’m putting my money where my reviewing mouth is, and I plan to get a copy both for my 23 year old daughter and my 25 year old son. They are at extremely different stages of their lives right now and this book should help teach them both how to prepare for life – a lot better than I taught them, because I didn’t even have all this information as they were growing up.

Quite a bit of thanks to NetGalley for allowing me to see an advance copy of this book for review. In return they’re going to sell at least three books, because who am I kidding, I need a copy of this book too.

Leave a Reply

