The Ice Twins, by S.K. Tremayne

10 Dec
ice twins sk tremayne

Two of Five stars

I just didn’t enjoy this book. First, it drags like hell. I think the first 50 pages were all about one 30 minute period in time. Second, everyone involved has the same passive agressive conversation: “What’s wrong?” “Nothing.” “Well something is wrong.” “No, it’s just that… nothing.” “What?” “Nothing.” OMG if they took out every conversation that went like that the book would have been half its length. THIRD, I can’t understand why the husband and wife don’t talk about ANYTHING to each other. No matter what happens, especially regarding the children, neither decides to speak to the other – and no matter how much the marriage is suffering, I don’t buy that. FOURTH, why did the parents not throw that child into therapy immediately, like a YEAR ago?? Of course the kid is screwed the F up. And FIFTH, What the hell, like is this a horror book, a mystery, a psychological thriller, a parental nightmare?? Like is there a supernatural element or is there not??

The last 50-100 pages flew by, I read them as quickly as I could because things were finally getting good, but the first 200-250? DRAG. I WANTED it to be good, that’s the only reason I stuck with it. I did like how it ended, but that may possibly be only because it was finally over.

I loved the setting of the book, and the location photos of this fictional story were quite unsettling. But there are so many better books than this one.

4 Responses to “The Ice Twins, by S.K. Tremayne”

  1. The Galaxial Word January 7, 2016 at 8:08 am #

    But the cover and the title of the book look so good though *pouts* It’s frustrating when a book is really slow and pointless, isn’t it. I hate it so much -.-

    • Cynthia January 7, 2016 at 7:18 pm #

      Yes, but you never know, maybe you’ll like it! If it sounds really good, just try it and let me know. 😀

      • The Galaxial Word January 7, 2016 at 7:21 pm #

        I’ll pop it under low priority on my TBR list which means that I’ll read through the other 8375829743 books first, THEN read this one. *pained smile*

      • Cynthia January 7, 2016 at 8:11 pm #

        That sounds like a perfect plan!!

Leave a Reply

