The Girl in the Ice (DCI Erika Foster #1), by Robert Bryndza

5 Feb
the girl in the ice bryndza

Four of Five Stars

I was reading this while also moving residences, so it took me longer than it should have to finish. I thoroughly enjoyed it, but because life was a bit upside down at the time my grasp of the details is slim. I can definitely say that Erika Foster is a great addition to the crime/mystery genre, and I look forward to more books with this character. As a crime novel this one stands strong, with lots of twists and turns and believable enough in the land of psychological thrillers. There were a few minor details I was not thrilled with: the father’s actions, the “bad guy” not being quite fleshed out, and I HATED everything Erika went up against in her own department – even if this misogyny is realistic it makes me insane to read about it. But overall this is a solid debut with a strong new protagonist and I look forward to more!

Thanks to Netgalley for the advance copy in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

