Paper Girls Volume 1, by Brian K. Vaughan

6 Apr
paper girls vol 1 by brian vaughan

FIVE of Five stars

I wasn’t loving this book at first, it seemed to skew a bit young for me and didn’t seem anywhere near as good as Vaughan’s other series Saga. But it picked up quickly, VERY quickly, and then I was strapped in for the ride. It’s H.G. Wells meets Peter Clines meets R.L. Stine meets Ann M. Martin. What a dinner party that would be, eh? I love that we’re treated to Paper GIRLS, when this could have easily been about paper boys. I love that at age 12 the girls are somewhat independent and beyond childhood, yet too young to throw in any unneeded love stories. I love the 1980s references. I love that we have several groups of unknowns who may be good or bad or a bit of both. I love that there are going to be messages and lessons throughout the series.

I love-love-love the broken English the groups were speaking, it was genius.

I would recommend this to anyone 12 and up (if you’re a parent, there are mature themes but nothing your 12 year old hasn’t heard before, I promise), any lover of Saga, sci-fi, time travel, and/or H.P. Lovecraft. As a 49 year old woman I loved this and cannot wait for the next volume.

Thank you to NetGalley for the advance copy in exchange for a review.

Leave a Reply

