This Must Be the Place, by Maggie O’Farrell

5 Jul
this must be the place maggie ofarrell

Four hesitant stars of Five

Talk about difficult to rate.
It’s well written, it grabbed me from the beginning, I was really excited about this book as I read more and more.
And then it all just started dragging for me.

I don’t ever mind books that go back and forth in time, and I actually *love* books that switch narrators often. But switching narrators AND going back and forth and front and back and sideways in time, this was a little more difficult.

In the end, I don’t understand the point of the time flipping. There were no real questions that were resolved in an interesting way. It was just confusing trying to remember who was married to whom at any particular time and who had yet to meet the other.

What was the point of the man who loved Daniel’s mother? That tangent was just left out there, abandoned.

Timou was just dropped and left. Nicola, such an important character through much of the book, was also just dropped and abandoned.

I’m not going to argue with anyone who gave this five stars, because I was wholly on board for half this book, and so maybe I just didn’t personally connect with it. But my enjoyment of this book started dragging at the halfway point, and it became a chore to pick up the book and continue. I started questioning the point of any of it. Wondering what exactly the plot is. Debating who the book is supposed to be about and if I really care what happens.

And in the end, I didn’t. I just didn’t care.

Four stars because it’s undeniably well written. But I’m left not really caring if I never see this book again.

Thank you to the Penguin First-to-Read program for the advance copy of this book.

Leave a Reply

