Ink and Bone, by Lisa Unger

23 Jul
ink and bone lisa unger

3 of 5 stars

This book just isn’t for me, although I in no way think it is a bad book. I enjoyed the beginning, but it’s been tedious for me for so long that I just can’t bring myself to keep trying to get through it.

The writing is great, and so are the characters. If you are into paranormal stories and mysteries, this is likely the book for you. The Hollows is a very mysterious place and a great setting for this series.

But for me it started to get really old and tiring when I realized it wasn’t just about one woman with these super powers. It wasn’t about two women with these powers. I think around now it’s about at least a dozen people with different powers, and so this is when I started losing patience. Keep in mind I am used to more “realistic” mysteries and thrillers, I am absolutely not against this particular genre, it just doesn’t grab me. As we are informed that this OTHER character is ALSO possessed with powers, I started to wonder how in the hell can no one in this town find any of these missing children?? You have a ton of missing kids and adults, a whole town of people with powers including SEVERAL who converse with the dead, but no one has been able to solve this mystery?

So I’m out with this one. I don’t want to discourage anyone else from picking it up though, because if you like this genre I genuinely think this is probably a good book and it will draw you in to reading all the other stories in the series, I am SURE of that. For me though, it’s time to move on.

Many thanks to NetGalley who provided me a copy in exchange for a review.

One Response to “Ink and Bone, by Lisa Unger”

  1. Annie July 24, 2016 at 8:02 am #

    I’ll read this soon! I loved In the blood 😀 Great review!

Leave a Reply

