Siracusa, by Delia Ephron

26 Aug
siracusa delia ephron

Five of Five stars

I pretty much loved this book, though I’m not going to lie, I wasn’t happy with the ending. In fact, I almost took off a star for it. However, I need to also admit that I’ve operated on very little sleep while reading this book, and finished it very late last night, so it’s entirely possible I just missed appreciating something in my haze. Regardless, not enjoying the last couple of pages doesn’t take away from the hundreds of pages that I absolutely loved.

I’ve been reading a lot of thrillers recently, and I like thrillers, but most are not great literature. Neither is this book, but the writing is still on a much higher level. I fell in love right away, it was a relief reading the stories of these four main characters and getting to know them in a way you don’t in an average thriller. However, though there is a sort of mystery/thriller aspect to the story, it’s much more like just a great piece of fiction.

The book reminds me of The Dinner, where you have two couples getting together (on vacation here) telling a story, and you know something has already happened, and it was a bad something, but you don’t know what. You have to just sit along for the story until you find out. Like The Dinner, these four characters are somewhat unlikable and very self-absorbed. Unlike The Dinner, this story is told alternately from all four points of view, and it is really fun reading the different view points, and noting the slight differences in stories, and wondering who was lying, who was exaggerating, and at what point the truth merged.

There are four very different people here, and though they may be unlikable, I found them fascinating – and not entirely bad. I especially loved the woman who was so obsessed with her young daughter that she did not really know a thing about her. I thought the growth, changes and disintegration of the marriages was told well and accurately. Sadly, it was the young daughter who has the most interesting side of the story, but we don’t get to hear her version. But that’s what brings the spookiness and utter creepiness to the story.

I highly recommend this book. I usually like to clear my brain of intense literature with a bit of fluff now and then. In this case I was clearing all the fluff out of my brain with the great story telling in this book.

So much thanks to NetGalley for the advance copy in exchange for a review.

One Response to “Siracusa, by Delia Ephron”

  1. Annie August 26, 2016 at 6:19 am #

    I want to read this and The Dinner! Love this cover and lovely review 🤗

Leave a Reply

