The Grownup, by Gillian Flynn

12 Mar
the grownup gillian flynn

Four of Five stars

This is definitely worth the hour it takes to get through all 62 pages.
For almost the entire book I was ready to give it 5 stars. Really, really snappy writing, so much great humor, and a story that kept getting spookier.

In true Gone Girl style, there’s a great twist that made me think of Roald Dahl‘s stories for adults. Maybe even Poecrossed with Dahl.

But then also in true Gone Girl style, Flynn takes it a couple pages too far. The twist is twisted and twisted again, and I’m pretty sure if I took the time to think about it those twists wouldn’t make much sense. In a full length book I might have taken off more stars, but for 62 pages it’s not worth the time to use a fine tooth comb. I’m just going to say that most of this story is truly a fantastic read and worth every minute I spent reading it.

Unlike some of Flynn’s other books, I wholeheartedly recommend this one.

3 Responses to “The Grownup, by Gillian Flynn”

  1. thebookreviewpage March 14, 2016 at 6:10 pm #

    Just out of curiosity (I myself have only read Gone Girl) which books of Flynn’s didn’t you like?

    • Cynthia March 14, 2016 at 6:17 pm #

      Sharp Objects is a very dark, depressing story. It’s not bad at all, just not something I’d want to read again. I listened to Dark Places as an Audiobook and thought it was excellent in that form. Gone Girl is superb because of its twist, but I think the ending went on far too long and the character development went completely awry at that point.
      Overall, I’ve given all her books 4 stars, but for different reasons. I totally love parts, and then really dislike other parts.

      • thebookreviewpage March 14, 2016 at 6:34 pm #

        Thanks for your thoughts. I’ll bare them in mind when I give the rest a go.

Leave a comment